MASSACHUSETTS THORACIC SOCIETY



ANNUAL MEETING

APRIL 3, 1990

SHERATON, BOXBOROUGH



Presentation of the HENRY D. CHADWICK MEDAL

to

EARLE B. WEISS, M.D.

The Chadwick Medal is the highest honor awarded by the Massachusetts Thoracic Society. It is given for "meritorious contributions in the study and treatment of tuberculosis and other thoracic diseases."

The first Medal was awarded at the 1964 Annual Meeting of the Massachusetts Thoracic Society to Henry D. Chadwick, M.D., who served as Superintendent of sanitoria in Vermont and Massachusetts, Commissioner of Public Health for Massachusetts, President of the National Tuberculosis Association (now the American Lung Association), President of the American Trudeau Society (now the American Thoracic Society), and President of the Massachusetts Thoracic Society.

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE CHADWICK MEDAL

1965 - Cleaveland Floyd, M.D.

1966 - Paul DuFault, M.D.

1970 — Edward Gaensler, M.D. & Edward Welch, M.D.

1972 - Theodore L. Badger, M.D.

1974 — John W. Strieder, M.D.

1975 — Jeremiah Mead, M.D. & Donald A. Martin, M.D.

1976 - Harry Shwachman, M.D.

1978 - John H. Emerson

1979 — Harriet L. Hardy, M.D. & James L. Whittenberger, M.D.

1980 - Gordon L. Snider, M.D.

1981 — Mary Ellen Avery, M.D.

1982 - Joan M. Tourigney, R.N., R.R.T.

1983 — Mary K. Steinkrauss, R.N. Lynne Reid, M.D.

1985 — Howard G. Turner, Jr., M.D. & Henning Pontoppidan, M.D.

1986 - Richard H. Overholt, M.D.

1987 - Gustave A. Laurenzi, M.D.

1988 — Homayoun Kazemi, M.D.

1989 — Denise J. Strieder, M.D.

EARLE B. WEISS, M.D.

The Chadwick Medal, the highest honor awarded by the Massachusetts Thoracic Society, is made to individuals for "meritorious contributions to the study and treatment of tuberculosis and other thoracic diseases". The medal was named for and first awarded to Henry D. Chadwick, M.D., in 1964. Since then 23 men and women have been so honored. Today the name of Earle B. Weiss, M.D. joins the list of distinguished individuals.